Fiddle vs violin strategies

Tagged: 

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Participant

I’m not able to find anything “yet”, but am still working my way through the forums…

what are some techniques to keep in mind in order to get the “fiddle” sound with any piece of music?
    For example, any old major scale. What could you do to keep it still a major scale, but make it sound “fiddle-y”

I’ve had 3 years of Suzuki, but my minutes and Gavottes don’t lend themselves to the fiddle sound.

what is the theory behind making music fiddle-y?
    TIA

lisa

cricketcricket
    Participant

Great question!  I don’t know if there’s any theory involved…but…well to my mind, my self-taught, amateur mind of little fiddling experience and zero violin experience…if we’re talking Old Time fiddling, one of the secrets might be in the bowing.  The bowing must be managed in a rhythmic way.  If you’ve heard clawhammer banjo, you could easily compare Old Time bowing to the bum diddies and rhythmic goings on in the banjo.  You could also, or I do anyway for whatever that’s worth, but you could compare rocking the bow to drop thumb on the clawhammer banjo.

John has a really nice lesson here for bow rocking if you look for the lesson on Candy Girl.  I worked through that lesson…I rarely if ever have played Candy Girl and never felt I got that good at it, but I did walk away from that lesson with a new appreciation and comfort level with bow rocking…Candy Girl is ALL bow rocking.  But in most tunes you’d play, you’d probably only use it here and there…great lesson for getting a feel for it and comfortable with it though, not to mention Candy Girl is a really nice old tune to know too.