Fills and Improvision

Tagged: 

This topic contains 20 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Avatar Nsam19 3 weeks ago.

Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Nsam19
    Participant

I’m not good at using fills and improvisation would anyone have any tabs or sheet music on fills, scales and improvising to make my music more fun please?

Any help on this would be appreciated

I usually like playing in keys of: C, D, G, F and A

Thanks

Frederick
    Frederick
    Participant

Hi nage2019; Here’s a little video I made to help another member here. It’s in the key of E and just takes you through a basic fill in for a basic Bluegrass melody. It might help you, I’m not sure.

Kenny
    Kenny
    Participant

Nage,

This is a really good exercise by Fred.  I am working my way through this now. I asked Fred to do something in the key of E because I wanted to work in a closed position.

Megan Lynch Chowning has some videos on Fills and arpeggios that may help. https://www.youtube.com/user/fiddlemeganb

Go to her play list and then techniques to find the videos.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZvruFfgT7ss&list=PLFeFRoK-8HQNIEkuGaDwARvNsE37MUVu

Kenny

Angela
    Participant

There are a few discussions in the BGD forum about this, so if you search you may find some more guidance.  Dave has posted a few examples.

When I first started working on improv and fills, the two things that helped me the most:  learning the pentatonic scales and getting them in my muscle memory and learning the arpeggios.

fiddlewood
    fiddlewood
    Participant

We traded several ideas here (the thread Andela suggested):

Arpeggios

Nsam19
    Participant

Thank you very much for everyone’s help I appreciate

Nsam19
    Participant

I know of some of the arpeggios but the problem is if i have to incorporate them in a song then I’m not too sure when or where

So would I just have to play when the chords change?