How Long Does It Take

Online Fiddle Lessons Forums General Help Forum How Long Does It Take

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Great ScottGreat Scott

Howdy y’all!
    As some of you already know, I am a complete beginner when it comes to learning to play the fiddle. However, patience is not my greatest virtue, and I am always wanting to run before I can walk. I am the the sort of guy who throws away the instruction manual but still manages to get the product put together and working just fine; even if there are still a few pieces left out of the assembly process.

With that being said, I am just wondering how long does it usually take a complete beginner to go from zilch to being able to confidently play and sound like s/he has a good bowing arm/wrist, good bowing technique and basically just good sound, and be able to play some nice tunes? I realize it is “horses for courses” and that everybody is different, but if you were to put a number of years on it, would it be 2 – 5 years, 5-7 years or what? Is it possible for a complete beginner to sound good, without sounding like a beginner in only a couple of months?

I would love to hear your experience, and your opinions.

Thank you for taking the time to read this! 🙂

Scott

Read on if you want to read the rest of this post and also perhaps try something that may help you. I hope you get something out of it!

….(continued) … I really haven’t even begun my journey yet despite having a not-so-good fiddle that I bought a few months ago. I don’t even like looking at it, but I sometimes get it out of its case without trying to play it so I can practice my finger positions on the fingerboard.