Key of ??

Tagged: 

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Howdy! I’m new to this and hopeful this website will have me playing fiddle with much less frustration than I’ve experienced in the past. I’m lost on this, though: “Let’s play this in the key of ___”. I hear it at jams, I hear it on lessons. What exactly does that mean? Where you start on the fretboard? I realize it’s elementary but I find it rather confusing.

Thanks!
    Andrea in beautiful northern Wisconsin 🙂

John (BGD)John (BGD)
    Keymaster

Hi Andrea, and welcome to the site! The key of the tune is important, because it indicates the scales you will be using to jam with. You can visit here for my video on practicing the seven most-common major scales:

https://bluegrassdaddy.com/step-2-how-to-read-tablature-fiddle-lesson/

When you are playing a standard fiddle tune, it is going to be in the key you learned it 99% of the time. Calling the key, in this case, is just for the benefit of the rhythm strummers.

However, sometimes you have learned the song in a certain key and someone wants you to play it in a different key. Usually this is because the vocalist can’t sing it there, or the banjo player forgot to bring her capo. You must then mentally adjust to the new key. Or, maybe you don’t know the tune and are just trying to jam along. In these cases, understanding how to play scales is very important.