Marking bowing

Tagged: 

This topic contains 9 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by cricket cricket 2 months ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

mccraackle58
    Participant

Hi, I am very new to fiddle and apologize for asking a basic question. I’d like to know if there are strict rules for bowing. I assume that normally one would up-bow on pick-up notes and down-bow on the strong beats. Is that right? I’ve noticed that some of the song tabs have bow markings, but many do not. Does this mean that there is a standard set of rules that apply, so marking isn’t necessary? Or, does it mean that there are multiple right (and wrong) ways to bow the piece? Thanks in advance for your patience with my beginner question.

Steve Srader
    Steve Srader
    Participant

On Johns lessons , the bowing signs or symbols my vary depending on when he created the lesson , If you watch his videos on measure by measure lessons , he will say and show weather its up bow or down bow , or if it does not matter so much , Plus you can visually watch his bowing patterns , The symbols are not necessarily by the book on his lessons and can be confusing , if your a by the book person your probably going to be confused , So don’t get caught up in right and wrong of the symbols so much , but what he’s teaching  on the lesson your trying to learn , If He says down arrow means down on the lesson then on that lesson it does mean down , and he says up arrow means up then on that lesson it means up , So for the sake of  what’s right or wrong make it easy on yourself and follow his lead !

cricket
    cricket
    Participant