Playing Clean? My Fingers Are Accidentally Plucking at Lift Off

Online Fiddle Lessons Forums General Help Forum Playing Clean? My Fingers Are Accidentally Plucking at Lift Off

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hi all. I have been trying to figure what I’m doing wrong. I can usually get to a note and play it when I’m supposed to, but when I leave that string to go to another, there’s a little after-sound that’s made as I lift. It’s not a loud sound as if I were doing a pull off. But it’s unwanted and it throws the tune off — at least to my ear.

Anybody know what I can do to not have that happen? I think this is one of those bad habits that come from being self taught.

Thanks.

cricketcricket
    Participant

mine do that too.  i dont know if its totally avoidable or not, or if somehow we just gradually learn to either lift off easier or learn to ignore it, but seems mine hasnt bothered me so much lately…so, like so many other things, seems it just gets better with time.

CaroleCarole
    Participant

I have noticed that when I do that I have been pressing down on the strings so hard that they are making indentations in my fingertips. I am used to playing a big, heavy viola with those thicker strings, so that noise helps me to remember that the violin doesn’t require more than a very light touch of the fingers on the strings.
    If you think this might be what is happening in your playing, try doing some exercises where you are playing notes—start with just a scale—with the very lightest touch you can possibly use to produce a sound. Any kind of sound. Do a few scales that way. Then experiment to find what is the very lightest pressure you need to use to get a good sound from each note. See if that keeps you from making those unwanted sounds. If that seems to stop those noises, begin your practice sessions by warming up with this little exercise and you will find it disappears.