Squirrel Hunters

This topic contains 42 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by cricket cricket 1 month ago.

Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 43 total)
  • Author

John Cockman
    Keymaster

This is an online fiddle lesson for the old time tune “Squirrel Hunters.” See the full lesson here:¬†Squirrel Hunters

cricket
    cricket
    Participant

Oh gosh…that’s great!!!!

John Cockman
    Keymaster

Thanks! This is one of my John Hartford favorites. ūüôā

Kaeleigh
    Participant

Oh, THANK YOU for this lesson!!!! I’m soooo excited! I’ve tried, but I just couldn’t learn it on my own- especially the second part. Yay! Here’s my next song to learn!!

cricket
    cricket
    Participant

Me too! ¬†John Hartford came to perform at our college I think when I was a freshman, maybe sophomore…anyway, it was really cool. ¬†He wasn’t that big a deal out on his own yet, I don’t think…he had just quit the Glen Campbell Show and was running around to perform all over on his own, I guess. ¬†He must’ve not been too big yet or he’d never have come to Cumberland, where I was at the time. It was an itty bitty college at that time and didn’t go all out for performers to come by and visit. ¬†But it was a great concert…The McClain Family, from up the road at Berea College, opened up…this was in our basketball gym…lol…they of course were super if you’ve heard of them…the one girl on bass was so good, I’ve never heard another upright bass player be able to do what she did…she mustve only been 20 or so. ¬†The kid on the banjo and fiddle was super and now heads a department on Bluegrass STudies somewhere…I think he left Morehead in KY and went somewhere in TN but I’m not sure…but they came to Cumberland and all around SE KY all the time because that was there place. ¬†Anyway…after they were done setting the place on fire, in strolls John Hartford…I guess people knew him from the GLen Campbell Show, but that’s it. ¬†He was lanky, slow, funny…put down that plywood and did all sorts