Strangling My Fiddle…

Best Online Fiddle Lessons Forums General Help Forum Strangling My Fiddle…

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    AmberSheltonAmberShelton
    Participant

I’m a left-handed beginning musician, so my left is my dominant and stronger than my right. I’m not sure if that matters in the scheme of things, but I find I’m struggling with too much pressure in my left grip. I start out loose…or what I consider loose. By the time I get a few measures in I’ve tightened up to the point I have to fight for the stretch I need between notes. Is this a normal part of beginner adjustment? Anybody got any good exercises or trick for relaxing the left hand while playing?

Thank you!

cricketcricket
    Participant

I think John, our BGDaddy himself, is a left handed fiddler, if I remember right.  I don’t know what effect that has, but I think any beginning fiddler will grip too tight, just from the stress of trying so hard to do something unfamiliar.  That part of it just gets better with a little bit of time and playing experience.

fiddlewoodfiddlewood
    Participant

I’m left-handed but play right-handed. I don’t believe it makes much difference.
    I grew up learning to play on terrible instruments and when I got better ones iI overplayed them a lot…I spent many hours concentrating on not playing any harder than absolutely necessary to produce a good note…I still spend some time on it when I catch myself over playing or get a sore hand from using too much pressure.

It is a very common beginner mistake to have incorrect pressure at many points in your playing, on any instrument.

The best thing to do is to keep the problem in mind as you play and correct it as you go. Relaxation is important in playing but very difficult for many to attain when first starting.

Keep at it and you can overcome this with time and concentration.

• This reply was modified 1 month ago by fiddlewoodfiddlewood.
    goettjpgoettjp
    Participant