String Question

Online Fiddle Lessons Forums Strings and Things String Question

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    jazzstudentjazzstudent
    Participant

I am very new to the fiddle.  I set up my fiddle with D’addario Pro Arte strings.  I picked them simply because they appeared to be the only ‘synthetic’ core set of strings that I could afford.  After playing for a few days, I was distressed to find that the ‘E’ string seemed dead-  there was a noticeable drop in volume moving from the ‘A’ string to the ‘E’ string.  Before I purchased the Pro Arte set, I had done some research on the internet.  It was suggested that the Pirastro Gold was an excellent ‘E’ string, so when I purchased the ‘Pro Arte’ set, I also purchased a couple of the ‘Pirastro’ strings as singles.

I found the problem with the Pro Arte ‘E’ so frustrating that I removed it from the fiddle and out of desperation, put on one of the Pirastro ‘E’ strings.  To my amazement, the problem was solved.  The new ‘E’ string worked perfectly.  The volume and tone moving from the ‘A’ to the ‘E’ string seemed balanced and pleasing.

Which raises a question for me.  I have no prior experience with violins and violin strings.  With the better sets of strings hovering in the $70 range, I can’t afford to experiment.  Can anyone with more experience than I have, and given my experience with the ‘Pro Arte’ string problem and the ‘Pirastro’ fix make any suggestions regarding what might be an optimal set of strings for my fiddle.

The fiddle is a Cremona SV-1800 Maestro Special Edition Hellier Style Violin.  It is Chinese made, but came highly recommended.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000UECKDG?tag=au001-20

Thanks very much for any suggestions,

Bill

Steve SraderSteve Srader
    Participant

I like the Helicore medium strings Dr. John use’s these strings on the lessons on this site they are about $40.00 or less ! beautiful violin you have there I love all the carving nice !